18.08.05 - 4:44 p.m.

for the first time in my life, Josephine
March, I�m not mad at you for that
scene in the woods, for breaking poor
Laurie�s heart, and though my twenty-
four years have been freckled with spontaneous
outbursts in response to the way you were
written, though even in your mother�s house
I breathed you in and resented the readership
that forced a love interest, I have slammed
down your story on any number of surfaces
and retreated to kitchens for cups of tea, crossing
arms over stovetops and rising steam because, by
god, he loved you, would let you win every argument,
a sworn saint with a mop of hair and money to
keep you in india ink�fingers black for the rest of
your life while his piano kept time with your
scratching and blotting. forgive me, Jo, for all
the years I�ve spent blaming you for his marriage
to that stuffy old Amy, assuming that Friedrich was
nothing more than a pass� extension of your existentialist
leanings, European, older, poor, a middle finger in
the faces of young girls who like bloodhounds
followed your story in the papers
because I (finally) understand: you just
weren�t in love and, unlike me, dear Jo,
my oldest friend,
you weren�t afraid to admit it.



your one beauty!
previous next
random

the project museum

the revolution will be catalogued

this american life

the library of congress

i used to believe

LTLYM

profile

diaryland

then

now















Site Meter