02.02.03 - 1:01 p.m.

i was five when i watched the challenger explode
standing in barefeet on the linoleum of
our kitchen where my mother had placed the
black and white television she hid in the
linencloset i squeezed my eyes shut and screamed,
covered my ears and she switched it off i spent
the rest of the week staring at the styrofoam
mobile of the solar system that hung from my ceiling
painted in the most realistic colors i could find
reading ray bradbury stories, refantasizing outerspace
until it was too big to imagine or tiny and captive
above my bed i wrote loveletters to sally ride
who responded with an autographed picture i crashed
her physics class went religiously until she showed
up ran after her and said you were my movie
pop star football player singer superman i wrote
you letters my dad worked for nasa, decompression studies
and she smiled sweetly, wryly said huskily
its dangerous to have such mortal superheroes.



she was right
previous next
random

the project museum

the revolution will be catalogued

this american life

the library of congress

i used to believe

LTLYM

profile

diaryland

then

now















Site Meter