10.07.05 - 3:08 p.m.

last night while trying to choose a suitable handbag i
found the beige chanel clutch willed to me by neil's
grandmother and, inside, the kippah i wore
to her funeral -- the kippah diane crocheted for me
as a welcome to the family when i was thirteen.
you'll need a kippah and a tallit, she said,
if you're ever going to be a rabbi's wife. this morning
with my husband in the bathroom i reached under the mattress to find
my tallit; galilee silk; an appliqued tree, and wondered if
she could feel me fingering the fringe, if
she awoke to a noise like cracking the spine
of a book that hasn't been opened since childhood.



diane, what would you tell me?
previous next
random

the project museum

the revolution will be catalogued

this american life

the library of congress

i used to believe

LTLYM

profile

diaryland

then

now















Site Meter